The new year means more money in paychecks for California minimum wage workers. On January 1, 2022, businesses with 26 or more employees began getting paid $15 per hour at a minimum while businesses with 25 or few employees started getting paid $14 per hour.
In April 2016, then California Governor Jerry Brown signed legislation that gradually increased the state’s minimum wage to $15 per hour. Since January 2017, California minimum wage employees have received a pay increase each year.
The pay breakdown was as follows:
- January 1, 2017: $10.50 per hour
- January 1, 2018: $11 per hour
- January 1, 2019: $12 per hour
- January 1, 2020: $13 per hour
- January 1, 2021: $14 per hour
- January 1, 2022: $15 per hour
The 2016 legislation states that minimum wage will be evaluated yearly based upon inflation and reflected in paychecks beginning January 1, 2023, and beyond.
On top of state minimum wages, employers within certain counties or cities must also comply with minimum wage ordinances. Specifically, suppose a city or county has a minimum wage mandate that is higher than the state’s minimum wage. In that case, the employer must abide by the city or county’s minimum wage — whichever is higher.
The state’s minimum wage increase takes effect at midnight on January 1, which means an employer must immediately adhere to the law.
What if My Employer Doesn’t Pay the New Minimum Wage?
Employers should not be surprised about this pay increase as it’s been outlined for several years. However, that doesn’t mean all employers will comply.
If your employer is not paying the state’s new minimum wage, you have every right to take legal action. The experienced team at Strauss & Strauss, APC is here to help you with your fight. With a free case evaluation — you have nothing to lose. Contact us online or by phone. (805) 303-8115.